Tsitsipas premiere with Munar


Stefanos Tsitsipas will face Jaume Munar in his opening match in Barcelona, in his first match since the Monte-Carlo triumph.

Tsitsipas has been given a bye for the second round of the Barcelona Open, where he is expected to play on Wednesday. He will face Jaume Munar, who just moments ago defeated Thiago Monteiro 6-3, 7-5.

The 23-year-old Munar is ranked No.86 in the world rankings and is a player who specialises in clay surfaces. He had a very good week in Marveja, Spain earlier this month, reaching the final of the Andalucia Open (losing 1-6, 6-2, 4-6 to Pablo Carreno Busta), and it is worth noting that he has only played on clay this year, having already played 29 matches (23-6) on the Challenger Tour and ATP Tour, mostly in 250s tournaments.

It will be Munar’s third clash with Tsitsipas, with the Greek player holding a 2-0 head-to-head lead. Their most recent encounter was in the first round of Roland Garros last September, where Stefanos was trailing 0-2 in sets, but managed to win in the end.

In other matches played today in Barcelona, Kei Nishikori scored a tough win over the tough Guido Pella 4-6, 7-6 (4), 6-2 in a match that saw him backed against the wall several times. The Japanese player will face Cristian Garin in the second round.

Qualifier Ilya Ivashka beat Tallon Griekspoor 6-3, 6-1 to become Rafael Nadal’s first opponent in the tournament, while Cameron Norrie overcame Salvatore Caruso 6-1, 6-2 to face Karen Khachanov.

Benoit Paire suffered his 7th consecutive defeat, this time losing to Federico Gaio 7-5, 6-3. Finally, Jeremy Chardy beat Nikoloz Basilashvili 6-4, 3-6, 6-3, while Pablo Andujar defeated Gilles Simon 6-1, 3-6, 6-3.

Monday’s (19/04) results:

Jeremy Chardy d. Nikoloz Basilashvili 6-4, 3-6, 6-3
Pablo Andujar d. Gilles Simon 6-1, 3-6, 6-3
Bernabe Zapata Miralles [Q] d. Andrey Kuznetsov [Q] 6-7 (4), 7-5, 6-1
Pierre-Hugues Herbert d. Sumit Nagal [Q] 7-5, 6-0
Egor Gerasimov d. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 7-5, 6-1
Kei Nishikori d. Guido Pella 4-6, 7-6 (4), 6-2
Cameron Norrie d. Salvatore Caruso 6-1, 6-2
Federico Gaio [LL] d. Benoit Paire 7-5, 6-3
Ilya Ivashka [Q] d. Tallon Griekspoor [Q] 6-3, 6-1
Jaume Munar d. Thiago Monteiro 6-3, 7-5